The initial ‘travel ban’ was signed into legislation by President Trump in January 2017 – a mere weeks after entering into office. This ban was one of the most controversial policies of the new administration, owing mainly to its arguable unconstitutional targeting of majority Muslim countries, and was subsequently challenged through the courts until the Supreme Court ruled, narrowly, in favour of the administration during June 2018.

Buoyed by the success of this ruling, on Friday 31 January 2020, President Trump expanded the restrictions of the initial ban to impose further conditions on six countries. The additional countries are as follows:

  1. Nigeria
  2. Eritrea
  3. Kyrgyzstan
  4. Myanmar
  5. Sudan
  6. Tanzania

While the first four countries on the list are now suspended from applying for all immigrant visas, e.g. nationals of these countries may still apply for non-immigrant visas, the latter two countries have been suspended from applying for diversity lottery visas, which was a key Trump Administration policy during the 2016 election campaign.

While the above restrictions represent a change in approach to the initial travel ban, whereby nationals of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea were suspended from applying for most visas (many are still eligible to apply for student visas), it does demonstrate that the Administration is proceeding with their goals of significantly reducing immigration to the US. The administration has stated that the above is due to these six countries failing to meet US security and information standards but would work in conjunction to improve these.

At Davies Legal, we represent clients in connection with all types of immigrant and non-immigrant visa applications. We offer competitive fixed fee billing and an assurance that your case will be handled only by your designated, fully licensed US immigration attorney. Call now for a free no obligation quote.






Published: 3rd February 2020